Planning Commission


The Planning Commission is a 7-member, non-partisan committee appointed by the City Council. The Planning Commission may act as the research and fact-finding agency of the municipality. The duties of the Planning Commission are to:

  • Hold public meetings and make recommendations to the City Council on a wide variety of policies and plans such as the Comprehensive Plan, Zoning, and the Shoreline Master Program.
  • Hold public hearings and review all Planned Unit Developments and Long Plats and make recommendations to the City Council.
  • The Commission has final decision-making authority over Shoreline Substantial Development Permit applications, Land Use Variances, and Conditional Use Permits
  • See Blaine Municipal Code: Chapter 2.56 for Planning Commission regulations


  • 6:00 pm on the 2nd and 4th Thursdays of each month see the calendar for specific dates.


  • Calvin Armerding - Chair - 2nd term ending December 31, 2022
  • Kevin Owens - Vice Chair - 1st term ending December 31, 2022
  • Jessica H. Stone, PhD - Member - 1st term ending December 31, 2023
  • Jerry Marczynski - Member - 1st term ending December 31, 2024
  • James Bring - Member - 1st term ending December 31, 2024
  • Jennifer Plombon - Member - 1st term ending December 31, 2022
  • Vacant

For More Information

Please direct all Planning Commission questions and comments to the Planning Commission by email. You may also contact Stacie Pratschner at 360-332-8311 ext. 3307 or by email.